A – M

Alejandro Acevedo-Gutiérrez

Alejandro Acevedo-Gutierrez

(2002) Professor
Ph.D. Texas A&M University

Phone: 360-650-3653
Office: BI309
Acevedo@biol.wwu.edu

Website

Teaching Interests: Marine biology and science education.

Research Interests: The role of marine mammals in their environment and their interactions with humans.

Paul Amieux

Paul AmieuxInstructor

Ph.D. University of Washington

Phone: 360-650-6795

Office: BI 147

Paul.Amieux@wwu.edu

Teaching interests: Cell and molecular biology.

Research interests: Cell-type specific gene expression in the developing male reproductive tract.

Shawn Arellano

Marine Scientist

Phone: 360-650-7400
Office: SPMC
Shawn.Arellano@wwu.edu

Website

Research Interests: Biological mechanisms that affect larval dispersal and successful recruitment of invertebrates, including reproduction, larval swimming behavior, larval development & physiology, settlement dynamics, and metamorphosis. Deep-sea biology, especially of chemosynthesis-based ecosystems. Invertebrate-microbial interactions.

Roger A. Anderson

Roger A. Anderson

(1994) Professor
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles

Phone: 360-650-3992
Office: BI 311
Roger.Anderson@wwu.edu
Website

Teaching Interests: Vertebrate physiology and ecology.

Research Interests: Lizard energetics, ecology, and evolution.

Elizabeth Binney

Instructor

Ph.D. University of British Columbia

Phone: 360-650-7464
Office: BI 231
Elizabeth.Binney@wwu.edu

Teaching Interests: General biology, ecology, biostatistics

Marion Brodhagen

Marion Brodhagen

(2006) Associate Professor
Ph.D. Oregon State University

Phone: 360-650-2920
Office: CB 282

Marion.Brodhagen@wwu.edu

Teaching interests: Microbiology, molecular biology, and chemical ecology.

Research Interests: Secondary metabolites of plant-associated microbes; chemical ecology; plant-microbe interactions.

Georgianne Connell

Georgianne Connell

Senior Instructor
M.S. Western Washington University

Phone: 360-650-6796
Office: BI 338
Georgianne.Connell@wwu.edu

Teaching Interests: General biology for non-science majors.

Research Interests: Science education.

Lina Dahlberg

DahlbergAssistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Washington

Phone: 360-650-4671
Office: BI 306
Lina.Dahlberg@wwu.edu

Website

Teaching Interests: Molecular and cellular biology, neurobiology.

Research interests: Using the model organism C. elegans to investigate how sensory neurons maintain their sensory capabilities, in particular, how the small protein, Ubiquitin, modifies smell and taste receptors to influence receptors’ abundance and localization in the cell.

Eric DeChaine

Eric DeChaine

(2006) Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Colorado, Boulder

Phone: 360-650-6575
Office: BI 237
Eric.Dechaine@wwu.edu
Website

Teaching Interests: Botany, biogeography and evolution.

Research Interests: Evolution and ecology of alpine and arctic flora, quaternary biogeography.

Deborah Donovan

Deborah Donovan

(1998) Professor
Ph.D. University of British Columbia

Phone: 360-650-7251
Office: BI 310
Donovan@biol.wwu.edu
Website

Teaching interests: Invertebrate physiology, marine biology and science education.

Research Interests: Energetics and biomechanics of marine invertebrates.

Heather Fullerton

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 360-650-7469
Office: BI 437
Heather.Fullerton@wwu.edu

David Hooper

David Hooper

(1998) Professor
Ph.D. Stanford University

Phone: 360-650-3649
Office: BI 307
David.Hooper@wwu.edu

Website

Teaching Interests: Plant and ecosystem ecology.

Research Interests: Effects of plant diversity and functional characteristics on ecosystem processes, nitrogen cycling, carbon cycling.

Robin Kodner

Dr. Robin Kodner(2012) Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Harvard University

Phone: 360-650-7467
Office: BI 412
Robin.Kodner@wwu.edu

Website

Janice M. Lapsansky

Janice M. Lapsansky

Senior Instructor
M.S. Western Washington University

Phone: 360-650-7337
Office: BI 305
Janice.Lapsansky@wwu.edu

Website

Teaching Interests: Human anatomy and physiology, and organismal biology

Research: Prehospital methods to improve survival and preserve function for patients who suffer serious cardiac emergencies. The ResQ Trial investigates new methods of cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) to improve survival and to protect brain health for patients who receive CPR by emergency medical personnel during a cardiac arrest. The IMMEDIATE Trial is testing whether intervention with intravenous Glucose, Insulin and Potassium (GIK vs. placebo) initiated pre-hospital can help minimize heart muscle damage during a heart attack that might otherwise lead to death or long-term heart failure.

David S. Leaf

David S. Leaf

(1991) Professor
Ph.D. Indiana University

Phone: 360-650-3632
Office: BI 413
David.Leaf@wwu.edu

Teaching Interests: Cell and developmental biology.

Research: Evolution of pattern formation in insect embryos.

Benjamin Miner

Benjamin Miner

(2006) Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Florida

Phone: 360-650-3640
Office: BI 410
Benjamin.Miner@wwu.edu

Website

Teaching Interests: Ecology and evolution.

Research Interests: Evolution and ecology of phenotypic plasticity and marine invertebrates

Adam Moles

Instructor

Phone: 360-650-7469
Office: BI 437
D.Adam.Moles@wwu.edu

Craig L. Moyer

Craig L. Moyer

(1997) Professor
Ph.D. University of Hawaii

Phone: 360-650-7935
Office: BI 406
cmoyer@hydro.biol.wwu.edu

Research Website
Course Website

Teaching Interests: Microbial evolution and molecular phylogeny.

Research: Marine microbiology and geomicrobiology focusing on molecular approaches for exploring microbial diversity, community structure and ecology.

 

N – Z

Brady Olson

Brady Olson

Marine Scientist
Ph.D. University of Washington

Phone: 360-650-7400
Office: SPMC
Brady.Olson@wwu.edu

Research Interests: Planktonic predator and prey interactions. The response of planktonic individuals, populations and communities to emerging climate stressors. Coastal planktonic food web ecology, with emphasis on copepod feeding behavior.

Joann J. Otto

Joann J. Otto

(2004) Professor and Chair
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine

Phone: 360-650-4044
Office: BI 314
Joann.Otto@wwu.edu

Teaching Interests: Cell biology.

Research Interests: Actin-based cell motility and cytoskeleton.

Merrill Peterson

Merrill Peterson

(1997) Professor
Ph.D. Cornell University

Phone: 360-650-3636
Office: BI 312
Peterson@biol.wwu.edu

Website

Teaching Interests: Insect ecology.

Research Interests: Population ecology, community ecology, and evolutionary biology of herbivorous insects.

Lynn J. Pillitteri

Pillitteri

(2008) Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of California, Riverside

Phone: 360-650-6599
Office: BI 407

Lynn.Pillitteri@wwu.edu

Website

Teaching Interests: Molecular Biology.

Research Interests: Plant Development and the molecular mechanisms underlying final plant form. My lab studies the mechanisms which control the balance between cell proliferation and differentiation during development. I use the model organism Arabidopsis thaliana to investigate this broad fundamental biological question.

Sandra Schulze

Sandra Schulze

(2006) Associate Professor
Ph.D. Simon Fraser University (B.C. Canada)

Phone: 360-650-7267
Office: BI 409
Sandra.Schulze@wwu.edu

Teaching Interests: Molecular and general genetics.

Research Interests: Chromatin structure and nuclear organization in Drosophila

Carrie Schwarz

Carrie Schwarz

Senior Instructor
Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University

Phone: 360-650-4523
Office: BI 157
Carrie.Schwarz@wwu.edu

Teaching Interests: Ecology, Evolution, Population Dynamics

Dietmar Schwarz

Dietmar Schwarz

(2008) Associate Professor
Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University

Phone: 360-650-3641
Office: BI 441
Dietmar.Schwarz@wwu.edu
Website

Teaching Interests: Evolutionary and ecological genetics.

Research Interests: Evolutionary genetics, genomics, and ecology. Hybridization and speciation in host-specific insects.

José Serrano-Moreno

Jose Serrano-Moreno

(2007) Senior Instructor
Ph.D. Case Western Reserve University

Phone: 360-650-3633
Office: BI 331

Jose.Serrano-Moreno@wwu.edu

Teaching Interests: Cell biology, neurophysiology, organismal biology, biochemistry, and toxicology.

Research Interests: Study of the molecular mechanisms of biological membrane transport and structure and function of ion channels and transporters. Cellular mechanisms of ionic homeostasis.

Anu Singh-Cundy

Anu Singh-Cundy

(1996) Associate Professor
Ph.D. Cornell University

Phone: 360-650-7473
Office: BI 308
Anu@biol.wwu.edu

Teaching Interests: Plant growth and development, plant physiology and molecular biology.

Research Interests: Cell-cell interactions during reproductive and vegetative development in plants, self-incompatibility, graft formation.

Peter Trenham

Peter Trenham

Instructor
Ph. D. University of California, Davis

Phone: 360-650-6795
Office: BI 147
Pete.Trenham@wwu.edu

Teaching Interests: Ecology, evolution, conservation biology, herpetology

Research Interests: Amphibian biology, especially landscape ecology and population management

Carol Trent

Carol Trent

(1989) Professor
Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Phone: 360-650-2869
Office: BI 408
Trent@biol.wwu.edu

Website

Teaching Interests: Genetics and molecular biology.

Research: Molecular genetics of haplo-diploid sex determination.

Thomas Unfried

Instructor

Phone: 360-650-4885
Office: BI 161
Thomas.Unfried@wwu.edu

Kate Yamamoto

Instructor

Phone: 360-650-7464
Office: BI 231
Kate.Yamamoto@wwu.edu

Sylvia Yang

Marine Scientist

Phone: 360-650-7400
Office: SPMC
Sylvia.Yang@wwu.edu

Research: Ecology with focus on organism-environment interactions in intertidal marine systems. Disturbance, recovery, and ecosystem function in seagrass habitats. Integrating empirical methods with mathematical modeling to understand ecological processes.

Jeff Young

Jeff Young

(1999) Professor
Ph.D. Ohio State University

Phone: 360-650-3638
Office: CB 283 (Chemistry Building)
Jeff.Young@wwu.edu
Website

Teaching Interests: Plant biology, genetics and functional genomics.

Research: Plant Functional Genomics.

 

Adjunct Faculty

John Bower

Professor, Fairhaven College
Ph.D. Cornell University

John.Bower@wwu.edu

Interest: Animal Behavior, Animal Communication, Northwest Natural History and Ecology, Evolution, Music, Ornithology, Marine Bird Ecology, Pregnancy and Childbirth, Issues in Biology and Society.

Jennifer Purcell

Marine Scientist, Shannon Point Marine Center
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara

Phone: 360-650-7400
Jennifer.Purcell@wwu.edu

Research: Trophic importance, population dynamics, and behavior of gelatinous zooplankton, especially cnidarians and ctenophores

Suzanne Strom

Marine Scientist
Ph.D. University of Washington

Phone: 360-650-7400
Suzanne.Strom@wwu.edu

Research: Marine cyanobacterial genus Synechococcus as a model organism for exploring morphological, behavioral, and chemical resistance strategies of microbial prey against protozoan grazers.

Kathy Van Alstyne

Marine Scientist, Shannon Point Marine Center
Ph.D. University of Washington

Phone: 360-650-7400
Kathy.VanAlstyne@wwu.edu

Research: Chemical ecology of marine algae and invertebrates, ecology and physiology of marine algae

Research Associates

David L. Alles

Research Associate
M.S. Western Washington University
alles@biol.wwu.edu

George H. Czerlinski

Research Associate
Ph.D. University of Gottingen

Melissa Miner

Research Associate
M.S. University of California, Moss Landing Marine Lab

Mary Anne Pultz

(1993) Emeritus Associate Professor
Ph.D. Indiana University

pultz@biol.wwu.edu

Research: Comparative study of developmental regulatory gene function in flies and wasps.

Fred Rhoades

Research Associate
Ph.D. University of Oregon, Eugene

Fred.Rhoades@wwu.edu

Research: lichen and mushroom identification and inventories; using lichens as biomonitors of air quality; 3-D photography of cryptogams.

Emeritus Faculty

  • Herbert A. Brown

  • Richard W. Fonda

  • Hubertus E. Kohn

  • Jal S. Parakh

  • Mary Anne Pultz

  • Donald Schwemmin

  • David W. Schneider

  • Clyde Senger

  • Don Williams

  • Stephen D. Sulkin

 
Page Updated 11.17.2014